The Alabama Crimson Tide won their fifth national championship in nine years in a 26–23 overtime victory over the Georgia Bulldogs. Tua Tagovailoa connected with DeVonta Smith from 41 yards out for a touchdown and the title.

Alabama was trailing 13–0 at the half. Tagobailoa took over in the second half for Alabama after starting quarterback Jalen Hurts struggled. Kicker Andy Pappanastos missed a 36-yard field goal at the end of regulation that would have won the game for the Crimson Tide.

Georgia scored a field goal in their first overtime possession but Alabama won on the touchdown.

"The Crimson Tide will not be denied!" was the official call from ESPN's Chris Fowler.

Watch the play below:

Nick Saban won his sixth national championship at Alabama, which ties him with legendary coach Bear Bryant.

This Story Originally Appeared On SI