In This Virginia City, Trick-or-Treating Over the Age of 12 Can Bring Jail Time
They've had enough of Halloween hooliganism.
In Chesapeake, Virginia, Halloween revelry comes with an age limit.
According to The Morning Call, in this populous South Hampton Roads city, it is illegal for kids over age the age of 12 to get free candy by approaching neighbors and uttering those three famous words: "trick-or-treat."
And as a Class 4 misdemeanor, doing so can come with serious punishment. Penalties for collecting sweet treats on All Hallows' Eve include a fine of up to $100 and/or up to six months in jail. Chesapeake also has a law that prohibits anyone, regardless of age, from trick-or-treating past 8 p.m.
But that doesn't mean every 13-year-old in costume should expect to end up in cuffs this Halloween. "Chesapeake Police staff will focus on making sure the evening is safe for everyone, not actively seeking out violations of the time or age limit," the city's website explains. "For example, a thirteen-year-old safely trick or treating with a younger sibling is not going to have any issues. That same child taking pumpkins from porches and smashing them in the street more likely will."
WATCH: This Southern Town Is the Pumpkin Capital of America
Chesapeake isn't the only Virginia community waging war on Halloween hooliganism, either. Nearby, in Newport News, Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Suffolk it's against the law for anyone older than 12 to trick or treat.
Virginians are not playing, y'all!