The fight continues.
Man Setting Clock
Credit: nito100/Getty Images

When daylight saving time ends this weekend, the vast majority of Americans will be setting their clocks back an hour—including residents of the seven states that voted to do away with the old-fashioned method for maximizing sunlight.

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Nevada, Oregon, Tennessee, and Washington have all approved legislation to make daylight saving time permanent. But when 2 a.m. rolls around on Sunday, November 3, they will all be abiding by the law.

Unfortunately for them, daylight saving time is enforced on a national level, which means that Congress would need to amend U.S. code in order to do away with it. And despite the groundswell on a state level, that has yet to happen.

America has been setting her clocks ahead and then back since 1918, when the first nationwide daylight-saving time law was passed as an energy-saving measure during WWI. President Lyndon B. Johnson signed the Uniform Time Act in 1966, establishing daylight saving time from the last Sunday in April to the last Sunday in October. The Energy Policy Act, which went into effect in 2007, extended the length of daylight-saving time to eight months, from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.

WATCH: Things To Know About Daylight Saving

Florida Senators Marco Rubio and Rick Scott reintroduced the Sunshine Protection Act in March in an effort to end the time changes.

"It's my hope that Sunday, November 3 will be the last time that we have to do this ridiculous changing of the clocks back and forth," Rubio said in a video message this week. "It makes absolutely no sense, there's no justification for it."

Well, in the meantime, plan to set your clocks back once again this weekend.